Effective January 1, 2020, Massachusetts residents who apply or renew their driver's license, ID, permit or sign up for health insurance through the Commonwealth Health Connector/MassHealth will be automatically registered to vote. Citizens will have the option to opt out of registering to vote and the RMV will no longer collect or enter information regarding political party affiliation.The automatic voter registration law was signed by Governor Charlie Baker in August 2018.
Qualifications to register to vote in Massachusetts you must be all of the following:
- A U.S. Citizen
- A Massachusetts resident
- At least 18 years old on or before the next election
- You can pre-register to vote at 16 years of age.
To check your registration status, click here.